FKA Kiteboarding Forums  

Go Back   FKA Kiteboarding Forums > KITEBOARDING AT ... launches, precautions, SCHOOLS, SHOPS, meets, local groups and more > Northwest Florida
Connect with Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/rick.iossi

Old 02-27-2007, 05:24 PM

Default looking for Daytona Beach info

I'm going to sound like a total newbie, but I'm looking for information on the kite scene at Daytona, and what it will be like during Spring Break. Are there any restrictions, places you can and cannot kite, things to be aware of? Also, from what I understand, the beach is hard packed sand, and could potentially be good for landboarding. Any information that you have will be welcome!

Also, are there any landboarders up there?

Thanks!!
Old 02-27-2007, 05:38 PM
Skyway Scott

I would contact ToastSYN on extreme kites forum.
He just wrote this review. I actually don't think landboarding or buggying is allowed in Daytona, but he will know for certain.

http://www.extremekiteskiteboarding....634&highlight=
Old 02-27-2007, 05:54 PM

keep in mind that bikeweek is between march 2nd - 11th along with spring break in daytona. if you're planning on going during that time. i'd go ahead and get a hotel if they're not already gone.
Old 02-27-2007, 07:09 PM
Administrator
Site Admin

Hey Stacey,

Send me a photo of your Spring Break get up and activities, I'll put 'em up. I grew up a 1/2 block from Spring Break on Ft. Lauderdale Beach. You got used to it after a while, about 15 or so years. Then they cancelled it?

Ponce Inlet may be one of your better options up that way. It is more lightly populated and to my knowledge there are no restrictions. I heard back before 2000 that landboarders and buggiers managed to get a Daytona wide ban on beach based riding. This was common knowledge back then, today, who knows?

Click here for full sized image

They get some great swells up that way, world famous. So, I know you'll be stoked about that!