FKA Kiteboarding Forums  

Go Back   FKA Kiteboarding Forums > SE Florida And The Keys Forum > What's happening?
Connect with Facebook

Old 09-07-2007, 10:53 PM

Default I want to do the right thing..help please

My second post here so go easy, ok?

I am very new to the sport, so I need some suggestions -

My experience is this:
I have @ 20 hours on a trainer kite and I have taken
two sessions with a professional trainer which taught me body dragging.

I need a place to practice. I ride dirtbikes....fast. I hate when a googan gets in front of me and either jams me up or worse, crashes into me.

I am now this googan, with one big exception....I want to avoid these problems, not create them.

I have confidence but am still very cautious.

Help me become a non googan. Where can I set up and practice without getting in the way, or worse, endangering anyone?

I live in Fort Lauderdale and can travel north or south...

Any help is appreciated....

Thanks

Leo
Old 09-08-2007, 06:27 AM
Administrator
Site Admin

Hey Leo,

Good questions and thanks for your concerns for others. Far too many newer riders never stop to consider such things. Even some experienced guys fail at this to be accurate.

Here are some questions to think over. Have you practiced emergency depowering, body dragging upwind for board recovery, self-rescue, rules of the road and weather planning in your lessons? Did they cover what to look for in a good launch area vs. a bad one, kite size selection, etc.?

Still more questions along these lines appear at:
http://www.fksa.org/showthread.php?t=656

I will be interested to hear your responses. These are important skills and knowledge. Lack of sufficient background in these areas has caused problems in the past.

transcribed by:
Rick Iossi
Old 09-08-2007, 08:46 AM