FKA Kiteboarding Forums  

Go Back   FKA Kiteboarding Forums > SE Florida And The Keys Forum > What's happening?
Connect with Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/rick.iossi

Old 10-18-2008, 11:33 AM
PubUltraStar

Default Badgers roadtrip to Florida Keys...

Greetings from Wisconsin:

We have a group of kiters coming down to the keys in early December. The tentative plans right now is to stay somewhere near Islamorada Key. 3 of the riders with us are experienced and can ride wherever. 2 of us are beginners on the water and have had lessons, but can snowkite. 2 will be absolute beginners. Can anyone recommend a good beach with shallow water to accomodate all of us? Are there beach fees? Is the ocean bottom sandy, or do we need to bring booties? Anyone have recommendations for evening activities? Some of us are SCUBA certified and would like recommendations for dive shops. Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Mike.

Here's Lake Mendota in Madison:
Old 10-19-2008, 07:00 PM
Administrator
Site Admin

Hello Mike,

For much of the Keys forget about the mainland concept of a sand beach. They do exist in the Keys, only rarely. In Islamorada there's Whale Harbor with a launching area and there is a fee to launch there. I think it's $10. It is a small place with no sand to speak of immediately adjacent to a parking lot. It does have a lot of flat shallow water however. Further south there is Anne's Beach still on Islamorada, again with no beach but lots of shallows. No fee to launch there currently. As I recall clear area to setup kites is pretty limited there. I would bring booties for the odd sea urchin or shell you might step on. The bottom is usually small areas of coarse sand and shell with most of the cover consisting of turtle grass.

I would suggest hitting Islamorada and running down the Keys to Key West for a trip to the flats with thekitehouse.com. You could stop by Bahia Honda State Park on the way north.