FKA Kiteboarding Forums  

Go Back   FKA Kiteboarding Forums > GEAR & SERVICES!!! > KITING GEAR!
Connect with Facebook

Old 05-29-2011, 08:44 PM

Talking canbrinha Bar setup

Hey guys, I recently purchased a 2011 Cabrinha Switchblade 16m... I love it!

But I'm a shorter rider (5'9") and it seems like when the bar is all out, I can't really lean back on the kite to edge upwind, and I'm having to sheet the bar all the way in just to be able to edge hard, but then I'm so overpowered, this kind of riding is kicking my butt, so any ideas on how to shorten this distance? or is it even a good idea? or any suggestions.

I'm a noob, so any suggestions or words of wisdom are welcomed. I don't wanna just go thinking I know what I'm doing and mess with the lines, mess something up, end up hurting myself or someone else on the beach. I've read enough of these so called kitemares, and I'd say 98% of the times is rider stupidity, so I'm trying not to be a statistic.

Thanks in advance.

p.s. any videos or website step by step tutorials.
Old 05-30-2011, 10:52 PM

I would try the Cabrinha site, they have a lot videos and other info (I think it's under support or tech tips). One of the videos is for tuning your bar, that may help because it deals with adjusting the line lengths so the bar is at the proper position when sheeted all the way in or out. I'm 5'10" and when I started out I felt like I wasnt in the correct position, especially in high wind. Now if I have my bar and lines set up right/tuned correctly and I use the trim straps to match the conditions I don't have any issues. I was also surprised by now soon and somewhat how often the lines need to be adjusted.