FKA Kiteboarding Forums  

Go Back   FKA Kiteboarding Forums > MAIN FORUM > ** KITER BUZZ **
Connect with Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/rick.iossi

Old 05-22-2007, 06:57 PM

Question If you could live anywhere in SE Florida...

Hi all,

I am a novice kiteboarder with a lot of time on my hands.

If you could move anywhere in SE Florida, and your main purpose was a good place to kiteboard with easy access, would you move to the keys, Miami, or somewhere else?
Old 05-22-2007, 08:26 PM
ruffridah89

Miami.
Its right in between The Keys and The Palm Beaches.
Old 05-22-2007, 09:13 PM

Thanks for the reply.

Does Miami have some good places for a beginner to stay out of trouble? I don't want to get in anyone's way when starting out.

I read about a launch closing in another thread. Are there enough places so there will still be plenty available if some shut down?

I am leaning towards the upper keys, but if there is a definitive reason to go to Miami instead, I would consider it.

I know there are only a few launch spots in the keys (for beginners), but there are limitless flats without a lot of traffic, which I thought might be better.

It also looks like there are more side shore winds in the keys than Miami, is this correct?

I want to go wherever I can get the most time in, with the shortest distance from home to launch
Old 05-23-2007, 06:59 AM
ruffridah89

To be honest with you, the keys have wide, open space for you. Just be careful about the channel marks, because thats deep water.
Im not that familiar with the upper keys, maybe Islamorada?
In miami, the only place you can kitesurf is in matheson hammocks, but that place gets crowded when its windy. After you have some decent experience, you can move on up to the big leagues at Crandon Beach in Key biscayne.
For a beginner like you, you should consider your options carefully and see which one suits you.
-Danny
Old 05-23-2007, 08:10 AM
Administrator
Site Admin