FKA Kiteboarding Forums  

Go Back   FKA Kiteboarding Forums > MAIN FORUM > ** KITER BUZZ **
Connect with Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/rick.iossi
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2013, 08:21 PM
dantheman dantheman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Default Gopro mounts

I bought a gopro to film some kitesurfing action. What are the mounts/pov's that you guys use/recommend?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2013, 09:09 PM
RickI's Avatar
RickI RickI is offline
Administrator
Site Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,682
Default

I use two mounts pretty much exclusively. One is the normal self-adhesive curved mount to attach a camera to my helmet. The second is the vented helmet mount to attach a camera to the central batten of my kite. Sometimes I use the chest mount. There are lots of other mounts out there but those are the ones I use for kiting.

Independent of the type of mounts you use, I recommend leashing or otherwise tying your GoPro off to something to back up the integrity of the mount. This should reduce the chance of losing your camera.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dantheman View Post
I bought a gopro to film some kitesurfing action. What are the mounts/pov's that you guys use/recommend?
Some recent shots







__________________
FKA, Inc.

transcribed by:
Rick Iossi

Last edited by RickI; 12-02-2013 at 09:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-03-2013, 02:54 AM
dantheman dantheman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Default

Thanks for the reply Rick.
How did you install the vented helmet strap mount to your center strut and what attachments you used?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-03-2013, 09:17 AM
RickI's Avatar
RickI RickI is offline
Administrator
Site Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,682
Default

I use the vented helmet mount from GoPro with longer nylon strap to fit around most central kite battens. I back up the mount with a line should something come loose.

A photo shows up in an article I did for Kiteboarding Magazine just before it was cancelled.

http://fksa.org/showthread.php?p=51098#post51098




Quote:
Originally Posted by dantheman View Post
Thanks for the reply Rick.
How did you install the vented helmet strap mount to your center strut and what attachments you used?
__________________
FKA, Inc.

transcribed by:
Rick Iossi
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-04-2013, 11:12 AM
dantheman dantheman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Default

I realized I don't have a center strut on my kite, just 4 struts, 2 on each side of the kite. Do you still recommend using this POV on my kite?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-04-2013, 02:51 PM
RickI's Avatar
RickI RickI is offline
Administrator
Site Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,682
Default

Then honest answer is I don't know. The weight, low though it is might be enough to impair your kite's flight. You could experiment in lighter winds and see how you do or hold off until you have a center strut.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dantheman View Post
I realized I don't have a center strut on my kite, just 4 struts, 2 on each side of the kite. Do you still recommend using this POV on my kite?
__________________
FKA, Inc.

transcribed by:
Rick Iossi
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-05-2013, 02:07 AM
dantheman dantheman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Default

Thanks for the help, Rick
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-16-2013, 04:38 PM
dantheman dantheman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Default

Know any other program besides gopro studios for editing in slow motion and timelapse videos that aren't resource extensive on a 5 year old laptop? Gopro studios doesn't load up the storyboard on step 2. Maybe I should record in lower resolution.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-16-2013, 07:29 PM
RickI's Avatar
RickI RickI is offline
Administrator
Site Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,682
Default

I was severely video processing challenged on my old lap top too. My solution was to avoid video processing in large measure unfortunately. The better video applications like Premier Express demand some computer power. You could try lower resolution and see how you do. Good luck.
__________________
FKA, Inc.

transcribed by:
Rick Iossi
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Do not advertise outside of [COM] Forums.
Do not show disrespect for others in your postings.
Users can be denied access to this Site without warning.
FKA, Inc., it’s officers and moderators are not responsible
for the content of the postings and any links or pictures posted.

Report Problems by PM to “administrator” or via email to flkitesurfer@hotmail.com

Copyright FKA, Inc. 2004, All Rights Reserved.