PDA

View Full Version : coming to florida in july 2010

rickyb75
03-14-2010, 08:38 AM
hi guys and girls my name is richi and im from ireland and am coming to florida 3rd july 2010 on my honeymoon, just wanted to put some questions out there to see if it was worth bringing my gear with me or to rent and what the winds are like this time of year?
im going to be staying orange lakes country resort orlando, so what what beaches do i need to research and what size kites, ive been kiting for two years now so am at a intermediate level,
any info would be much aprreciated, thanx
windy regards richie;)

ricki
03-14-2010, 08:51 AM
Hello Richi,

All the best to you and your bride on your honeymoon! In most years, July and the rest of the summer months can be a fairly off time for wind. More about that at: http://fksa.org/showthread.php?t=500

Normal weather patterns seem to be shifting, so this year, who knows? If you can easily bring some gear and won't be totally heartbroken if you can't use it a great deal, you might consider it. There can be summer thermal winds at times along with some tropical systems. Both sources of summer wind can bring both useable and unuseable (hazardous) wind depending on circumstances. Kite gear rental aside from boards is still not that common in Florida.

From Orlando, there are kiteable beaches about an hour to the east around Ponce Inlet, Cocoa Beach and an hour and a half to the west around Ft. Desoto. As for kite sizes, I would try to cover the low end, say around 10 to 15 kts. If you could find a larger board that should help too. Anything is possible but those are the usual July wind trends here.

Have a great trip!

ricki
03-14-2010, 09:17 AM
Here are a couple of wind plots for July from last year. There can be variation year to year. The first is for the 520 Slick, a spot on the Intracoastal Waterway near Cocoa on the east coast.

http://www.fksa.org/albums/album369/Cocoa.jpg