PDA

View Full Version : SLAMMED - I Forgot to unhook

ricki
12-14-2008, 06:23 PM
... unhook your kite leash before solo landing.

I first learned this after a horrific accident, it involved a guy solo landing using the "spin the kite" technique. The kite relaunched instead dragged him by the leash and slammed him into an 8 ft. high concrete seawall, up and across the street, slamming into the hood of a car and then getting thrown into a tree, the kiter, not the kite. Since that time a few years back, I've remembered to do this. I even remembered to do it today once but not the second time.

There is a lot more to solo landing and many different techniques. I really don't want to get into all the variations here. Competent assisted landing should be used if available.

The solo kite technique I used worked flawlessly over an hour earlier, with lots of control and some room for error. I've been doing the spin the kite technique since 2000 with reasonable success that improved substantially with flat kites. I also remembered to unhook the leash, which didn't effect the outcome of things that time. The wind was 13 to 18 mph side shore and I had a 12 m flat kite up.