PDA

View Full Version : How to choose first kite

davewolfs
04-19-2008, 10:04 PM
Hello everyone,

I am extremely new to the sport and have been using a training kite and am about to start lessons. Lately I have been researching how much gear costs and what types of kites are available.

It seems that in my area people are using a number of different brands - North, Slingshot, Best and Eclipse.

So with all the kites out there, how does one go about choosing a kite? Any advice is appreciated.

Dave

Skyway Scott
04-20-2008, 12:16 AM
Get the best priced 2007 SLE kite on close out that you can get, if you are thinking about new gear.

It's not going to matter too much which kite brand it is, imo, especially as a first time kiter.
It really doesn't all that much anymore for most riders with less than 2 years experience.
I would even strongly consider asking a local about his used gear (if you see some for sale).
Don't let anyone pull some b.s. on you about shelling out a lot of dough and tell you that it let's you progress faster. That's a sales pitch aimed at the gullible newbie.
In terms of boards, I would error on a tad bit wide. Don't "pull a Jason" and get too narrow of a board :), especially with summer coming up.

Oh lastly, prepare to not ride much for the next 4 months (possibly), at least locally.

bayflite
04-20-2008, 07:19 AM
peter lynn makes a foil that is very easy to launch...just dont forget the organ grinder and monkey.
eclipse?
north?
best and cabrhina are by far the most popular in this town.
flexifoil is up there too.
ocean rodeo does nice work too.
peace

Whitey
04-20-2008, 07:24 AM
I agree with Scott's advice buy the best stuff from last year and don't get hyped.