PDA

View Full Version : Out of towner...looking for local knowledge

rmurray
11-07-2007, 01:08 AM
Hello Tampa / St. Pete kiters! I'll be in your area from Nov. 16-27th for a wedding. I'm from Seattle and have been to Tampa / St. Pete many times but have not kited there yet. I'd really appreciate any and all advice. I'm staying in St. Pete Beach and will have a car. I've been riding for 2 years and am a competent rider. Looking for flat water first, waves second. If I bring 2 kites, what sizes should I bring (I have a 9m Fuel, 13m Fuel and 16m Rhino)? Where should I go? Where should I not go? Do you have a link on your forum with beach info? What wind directions work with which beaches? I hear kiting is very popular right next to the skyway. What is the best website for checking the wind?

I know this is a lot of questions so I appreciate any feedback I get. If any of you visits Seattle, I'll return the favor with local knowledge.

Thanks!

Ryan Murray

Skyway Scott
11-07-2007, 07:32 AM
Ryan,

I would post on here in the let's ride section the night before you want to ride.
That night, enough of us ride that we can give you advice and ride with you the next day at agreed upon spot (s).

Looking forward to riding with you :)
I would try to bring all 3, but if only 2, I think the smaller two.

Scott

rmurray
11-07-2007, 11:22 AM
Thanks, Scott! I'll check the forum for info the day / night before riding. I found this link http://www.epickitesurfing.com/tamaplaunch.html on a "Where not to ride" sticky on this forum. Looks like a lot of great info on your kite beaches. North Skyway looks ridiculous....flattest kiteable water I think I've ever seen. I'd love to ride there. Hopefully we can hook up! Looking forward to meeting some of you guys later this month.

How many days a week do you get rideable wind in Tampa / St. Pete?

-Ryan

bryanleighty
11-07-2007, 12:01 PM