PDA

View Full Version : My Scary Experience at Hobie Beach

JustinZ
01-29-2007, 03:27 PM
I just thought I would share my first experience at Hobie Beach with anyone interested.

I have been kiteboarding for about 8 months now. I usually ride at Matheson or Crandon and once in a while on the Beach right behind my apartment building on Miami Beach when the waves are not too crazy. Since the winds were coming out of the West yesterday, I decided to check out Hobie Beach since that was the only place I knew I could ride with the West winds. I have a CABRINHA CONTRA BOW 12 and a CABRINHA PRODIGY 158 board.

I have read all the warnings about Hobie Bach and it's hazardous launching area. I figured I would go out there and be as safe as possible. My plan was to launch and then get myself as far out as possible so that I could ride with biggest buffer zone between me and the crowded beach launching area.

I was having a great session for about an hour, jumping really high and just having a blast. I must have been about 2 miles out (hard to tell exactly but I was the furthest kiteboarder out). Anyway, a gust hit, and since there was no one anywhere down wind of me, I went for a crazy high loft and landed on my ass. Once I crashed, I guess instead of letting the bar out, I instinctively pulled the bar in and the kite came crashing down super hard LE first in to the water and BOOM the kite just ripped in half a straight line from the leading edge to the trailing edge. (This exact same thing happened to me a few weeks ago at Crandon and this was now my second kite this happened to - it was only my third time using it).