PDA

View Full Version : Extreme Flying, uh Taxiing?

ricki
01-20-2007, 07:51 AM
I was heading out to the mountains to stay with some friends for a long weekend. The normal plan is to fly out after work and returning on a red eye flight on Sunday. This time I pulled a seat over one of the wings. There were quite a few planes in line to take off so we were taking our sweet time getting to the runaway. Every once in a while I would hear and feel a vibration, a disturbing one. It just didn't seem normal at all. This kept up for a while, I mentioned it to the people decide me who didn't seem to notice it.

Finally a stewardess came by and I told her that there is a vibration and noise coming from the port landing gear that I felt wasn't normal. I mentioned it might be something to do with the brakes. She asked if I was a pilot to which I asked if hang gliders counted? If we have gear problems in hang gliding it is often a loose shoe lace. I told her to sit in my seat and she would likely be able to hear and feel the vibration. She didn't want to do that and took off.

The stewardess later returned saying the pilot looked into it and saw nothing out of the ordinary and not to worry about it. I told her the noise had become more persistent and that she really should sit in my seat as it was less apparent in the isle. I was about to make more of a stink about it as it simply didn't seem right at all. She took off again and shortly there was the announcement over the PA.