PDA

View Full Version : Good kite to buy?

ricki
08-08-2006, 11:22 AM
I am new to the sport. I took a 2 day course and was able to get up on the board using a 11m "C" kite. I have decent control but need a good beginner kite.

I have the opportunity to buy a 2005 13m or 15m Slingshot Fuel at a good price.

Or possibly at 14m Cabrinha Element

They both look like a good "C" shape 4 line kites. What does anyone think?

Any other suggestions?

I think in the long run a 5 line hybrid will be better, but the C seemed easier to learn on.

C kites have a huge following and probably will be around for sometime to come. Both the Fuel and Element are both well regarded kites.

Quite a few instructors have been shifting to flat kites however for instruction as the learning curve is often shorter with them. So, for a new kiter, you might want to think over whether to go with a C kite or perhaps to shift to a flat kite. You may remember getting yanked on your face during the course depending on wind conditions? Avoiding this is easier with flat kites.

cw
08-08-2006, 11:25 AM
Thanks Rick.

ricki
08-08-2006, 11:32 AM
Is this for riding primarily in Colorado? Do you head out to Lake Dillon?

cw
08-08-2006, 01:30 PM
In summer- Lake Mac in Nebraska
In Winter - Lake Dillon

It seems like both kite are good, but the Cabrina seems to have a better relauch system for snow and water? That's important as I will be crashing kite all the time.

Although the fuel seems like it may have better response?

Any thoughts?

ricki
08-08-2006, 02:28 PM
I've been to Lake Dillon a number of times but only in winter. Have you been to the new kite shop in Frisco yet? I hadn't heard about Lake Mac before.

One thing about inland kiting is that it is gusty, flat kites handle gusts easier than C kites particularly if you are new.